My guided tour of St. Mary’s Cathedral, Rubaga

Ezra Fambi
2 min readNov 4, 2021

--

The entrance to Rubaga Cathedral

Approaching the giant Cathedral made me feel like a little spot of dirt in a giant white apparel. The almost white clay walls are dazzling and brighten the entire surrounding. I was greeted by a sight of two faithful praying at the Mother Mary Grotto. I proceeded through a well paved walkway, taking the stairs as I approached the lone security personnel at the entrance. I introduced myself and as expected, he had a couple of questions that got me explaining every bitty bit of what I could. Benedict, as I later found out his name was, muttered indistinct sounds into a short-wave radio -we call it walkie-talkie, or radio call(sic) -after he had stepped a few feet away from me.

Coming back with a warm smile, Benedict motioned me to a handwashing station and I gladly washed my hands. He then did a hurried body search and then invited me to enter and tour the cathedral. He would be my tour guide! At the entrance, he handed over his security post to a towering lady and then led me straight to the front, past numbered seats down the aisle. He did not explain much at that point. Still mesmerized by the amazing architecture, he led me to the right which he called the Martyrs’ section. It housed three tombs of three late Bishops, and most notably for me was the late Dr. Cyprian Kizito Lwanga. Across at the opposite end was the Mother Mary section. My guide explained that the faithful visit to pray to her. The right wall was lined with a couple of confession booths.

The magnificent architecture inside Rubaga Cathedral

Our final stop was the entrance which had the emblems of the Popes and the Archbishops, with giant bells with connected ropes on the side. It will forever be a memorable tour.

The oldest musical organ in the Cathedral

--

--